PCPartsandmore.co.uk
Receptionist was sucked into the world of gaming via the heady lure of a Wii. She went searching Google for a shop selling them online and came across pcpartsandmore.co.uk a company supposedly based out of Blackpool.
Good prices, good delivery right? Everything looks ok, at a glance. Then you look a little closer and something begins to smell bad.
Luckily they had their doubts early and didn't actually place an order. I'm really glad they didn't, considering what I found after checking them out.
1. Web page pretty much ripped off from Dabs.com. Including a link to their mailing list. (Copyscape it)
2. Not ISIS accredited
3. Domain registered to an individual via a German registrar. An individual located in Scotland while the store is in Blackpool?
Domain name:
pcpartsandmore.co.uk
Registrant:
Lynne McGinn
Registrant type:
UK Individual
Registrant's address:
19 Glendevon Court
Broxburn
EH52 6UU
United Kingdom
Registrant's agent:
Schlund + Partner AG [Tag = SCHLUND]
URL: http://registrar.schlund.info
Relevant dates:
Registered on: 23-Feb-2007
Renewal date: 23-Feb-2009
Registration status:
Registration request being processed.
Name servers:
ns59.1and1.co.uk
ns60.1and1.co.uk
WHOIS lookup made at 15:43:06 06-Mar-2007
4. There are about a million companies registered to their address
5. Frankly, it's not a very professional job. What, for example, is an ' Applie ipods?!'
6. Thawte has no record of them.
Verisign has no record of them.
On the other hand, this does look like a business
(These
>Wii bargain hunters are similarly concerned.)
No concrete evidence that these guys are dodgy as far as taking credit card info and shipping goes but I'd be leery.

