3.06.2007

PCPartsandmore.co.uk

Receptionist was sucked into the world of gaming via the heady lure of a Wii. She went searching Google for a shop selling them online and came across pcpartsandmore.co.uk a company supposedly based out of Blackpool.

Good prices, good delivery right? Everything looks ok, at a glance. Then you look a little closer and something begins to smell bad.

Luckily they had their doubts early and didn't actually place an order. I'm really glad they didn't, considering what I found after checking them out.

1. Web page pretty much ripped off from Dabs.com. Including a link to their mailing list. (Copyscape it)

2. Not ISIS accredited

3. Domain registered to an individual via a German registrar. An individual located in Scotland while the store is in Blackpool?

Domain name:
pcpartsandmore.co.uk

Registrant:
Lynne McGinn

Registrant type:
UK Individual

Registrant's address:
19 Glendevon Court
Broxburn
EH52 6UU
United Kingdom

Registrant's agent:
Schlund + Partner AG [Tag = SCHLUND]
URL: http://registrar.schlund.info

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 23-Feb-2007
Renewal date: 23-Feb-2009

Registration status:
Registration request being processed.

Name servers:
ns59.1and1.co.uk
ns60.1and1.co.uk

WHOIS lookup made at 15:43:06 06-Mar-2007

4. There are about a million companies registered to their address

5. Frankly, it's not a very professional job. What, for example, is an ' Applie ipods?!'

6. Thawte has no record of them.

Verisign has no record of them.


On the other hand, this does look like a business


(These
>Wii bargain hunters
are similarly concerned.)

No concrete evidence that these guys are dodgy as far as taking credit card info and shipping goes but I'd be leery.

0 comments: